Last September a stainless steel sink in good condition was advertised on Freegle and I collected it on my bike.

A month later it was stolen from my front garden, along with another much tattier one. I phoned the nearby metal recycling centre, where I am registered as a scrap metal dealer, and asked that if someone came in with two sinks, could they please tell them to put them back in the garden they'd nicked them from.

The scrap metal person told me that they couldn't do that because they get sinks in every day. So on Friday 3 March I went to see if they'd sell me one. Yes, they had a reasonable single sink I could have for a fiver.

I asked whether they get doubles. 'Much rarer, but yes, come back tomorrow at 11 just before we close and I'll see what we've got.'

So at 11.15 on Saturday 4 March I walked in and Paul recognised me immediately. 'You wouldn't believe it, this is the first day since I can't remember when that we haven't had a sink in, unless one of those two cars outside is delivering one... But, don't worry, I know you're local, if one comes in I'll put it on one side for you.'

I went back the following Monday. No double sink but Paul told me they have plenty of storage space and if a sink came in he'd keep it for me.

I called in on Friday 10th and there was still no double sink. I called in yesterday and Paul had two - not exactly what I was looking for but they'd do and one, bonus, had a tap. A tenner. We agreed I'd collect today.

Paul didn't believe it when I turned up this morning with my bike trailer but I told him it would fit and it did. As I left, calling out, 'I'll be back,' he was laughing. 'I'm quite sure you will.'

Good timing - I now have a door to take it through to the back garden.

'No cash for scrap' means that they won't pay cash for scrap metal that is brought in - anyone selling metal has to have an account, as I do, in order to reduce the chances of theft of, for example, lead from church roofs or copper cable from telephone installations or, ahem, stainless steel sinks from front gardens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.