Joan’s blips

By Keepingitsimple

My mother

Another inside day due to the heat. Tomorrow is predicted to be 24 degrees so that will be wonderful. I took photos of photos in a book I wrote about my mother so they are not fabulous quality. Although I am not sure they ever were.

Kathleen (5/8/1912-25/12/1969). I am guessing that all photos were taken by street photographers who were plenty in the 1930s and 40s. My mother always dressed with style and probably made everything she is wearing in these photos. She was a great dressmaker and as well as looking after her ailing parents before she married, she made money through dressmaking.

She continued to sew for her family and even though she had few clothes a string of pearls and pearl ear rings always dressed up an outfit. I still live by that.

Just before I was born my parents and three siblings moved into a new rental place. My mother would not have known she was moving next door to a professional dressmaker. She would never have set up in competition. Money was scarce and dressmaking was a natural money making avenue she never used. I didn’t come to this realisation until after she died. I was 19 going on 11. A life time ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.