bgleyna

By bgleyna

Unsettling

I find this stretch of highway which I have to negotiate on my way home, unsettling even on a normal day, because of all the road works and the speed of traffic around me; but today, with tornado and severe thunderstorm warnings and the dark clouds around me I was particularly unnerved.
A little while previously on this journey home, I had pulled off the highway to shelter for a while at Jamie’s house because the sky was looking much scarier. At least by now I could see a patch of sunshine just above my destination so I had decided to proceed.
I got home safely of course, to hear that back at home David had been summoned by the Tower Management to the basement level to shelter from a possible tornado scenario again.
We have been having some unsettled weather here in North Texas, which for us means tornados and hurricanes. The strong winds had completely flipped over a table we’d had out on our balcony. Last time we had tornado warnings, we heard a crash out on the balcony and found someone else’s broken flower pot there. We had brought in all our balcony furniture that time.
Hey ho, today is supposed to be the first day of spring, so I’m anticipating better weather here on out. Optimistic?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.