Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Big Brother is watching you....

Many thanks for all the birthday wishes for W yesterday; she really appreciated them.  We had a superb meal at Meadowsweet; the price has gone up but we thought the quality had gone up too, not that it has ever been poor!

I had left my mobile phone on the window ledge next to our table during the evening, switched on but with no apps open and the volume turned down so it didn't disturb us.  As we were paying the bill the couple on the next table started chatting as it was her birthday too.  A nice couple who were from Norwich so were staying over in one of the rooms above the restaurant.  The conversation turned to transport links in Norfolk and how it takes an age to drive anywhere; the chap told us that rather than drive to Heathrow, Norwich Airport is better than you think because it is only a half hour flight over to Schiphol from where you can catch a KLM flight to virtually anywhere in the world.  Good to know, I thought.

We walked home after leaving the restaurant and when we got in I thought I'd have a quick look at Blip and Facebook on my iPad which I'd left at home.  On the front page of Facebook was an advert from KLM for flights to Johannesburg from Norwich Airport via Schiphol.  Now, call me an old cynic, but I find it difficult to believe that was a coincidence and that Facebook isn't really passively listening to all of our conversations even when we aren't logged in.  I've already closed my Twitter and Instagram accounts and would be tempted to do the same with Facebook if it wasn't so useful for finding out about local events etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.