weewilkie

By weewilkie

Daffodils are lovely but

Interior: A flat

 (At the end of a party only two people remain sprawled on a sofa, they notice a bunch of daffodils in a vase on a table)

Oh those daffodils on Great Western Road, have you seen them?
Aye, I've seen them. I drove tae Helensburgh the other day.
I love, love , love them.
Me tae. I think its that the yellow minds me o the sun on the return.
The sun on the return, that's pure poetry that is. I love how their trumpets are like the way trumpets trumpet out things. Like the daffodils are trumpeting out Spring or something...
Totally.
Trumpeting something like : March march March march March march March march! (laughs)
Very good.
Like one of those marches has a capital letter and the other doesn't.
Eh?
March march March march..; like this is the month of March and the daffodils are like trumpeting something...
Trumpeting a march. A march intae better weather.
Yes! That's it a march from March into better weather.
 (Smiles) They are lovely right enough and light and yellow and when there are so so many of them like on Great Western Road it minds me o that song frae the Wizard of Oz.
(looks askance)
You know, follow the yellow brick road, follow the yellow brick road ... follow, follow, foll.. you know : yellow as in golden as in a road that leads to treasure.
Yes. Dorothy and her red shoes..
I was a munchkin once. Primary 4 at school: farmer munchkin. Dorothy's hoose has just killed the witch o the East.
No way!
Aye way. I mind my lines. "There, there 's the magic house!" 
And the Mayor munchkin said, "It flies you say?" 
And I said "Yes it came right over the rainbow ZOOM!" 
And wi my arms I made a rainbow wi a big stretch and then knocked aff the mayor's hat wi ZOOM! It got a big laugh.
(laughs)
But I went intae school the next day and I felt full o myself, like the wizard behind the curtain. I had a fancy for the lass who played Dorothy and was sure that she'd been impressed by my knocking the hat aff the mayor. Well, that didny last long... "There's that wee guy that was scratchin his baws on stage last night!" shouted Stephen Spence !
What?
Apparently I'd been nervous and while one hand made the arc of a rainbow and knocked the mayor's hat aff, the other was anxiously tugging at the family jewels. 
(laughs) Jesus! 
Aye. And my mum was there wi her knitting bee! 
Wow!
And I really fancied that Dorothy in a wee guy kind o way anaw...
(They are silent for a time)
Daffodils are lovely, but.
Yes. So lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.