I’ve been struggling with a  a tennis injury for nearly 2 weeks, I’m improving now but and at times it’s been hard even to get in and out of bed. Short strolls are part of the recovery (hopefully!) regime.
We are so lucky to have the Valley Gardens nearby. My great grandfather was a landscape gardener here so there’s a history.  It’s a beautiful spring morning and the blossom is beautiful.  The original Magnesia Pump Room is open and manned by the Friends of the Valley Gardens Gardens. I’ve never been in here before.  Fascinating! I have to thank Andrew Jordan for his generous sharing.  I learned all about the Tzarina’s visits, the suffragettes in Harrogate and the ‘everlasting’ pill. The waters too, how they arrive in Harrogate from the Pennines, and the anticlimbs that (I think) result in the huge variety of waters - there are 36 wells, here, in the Valley Gardens - although ironically the waters are now classed as unfit for human consumption. (But you can still taste of a ‘medium’ sulphur water from an inadequately stopped tap behind the museum - which is shockingly like bad eggs) I
It sounds like, sadly,  that there are no records of my great grandfathers time as a landscape gardener there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.