Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Mine!

I remembered in time - just - that today was my 3000th blip. That being the case this box of Celebrations which I 'just happened' to have lying around, seemed the way to go.
Sunday today and as it's the 4th Sunday of Lent, Mothering Sunday. The former Primus was with us today as our Rector is away. I had a lovely welcome back from the congregation.
Today my church mothered me beautifully by giving me four wonderful hymns to sing, so I did, giving them laldy! I missed singing so much while I was away.
My particular moment in church today though was when we sang the Lord's Prayer. Both of the settings which we used for many years - one being produced by our organist and based on Kievian (Kyvian) liturgical chants, and one an American setting, used a sung version of the Lord's Prayer. Our Rector is not so keen though and although much is sung, we have said the prayer for the last 3 years. I found it very emotional to sing it today, something which felt very special for my first service back in church.
Katy and the girls popped round after lunch with two orchids for me, one for a grandmother and one for a mother, as they put it!
We had a quiet afternoon, it was mild so I ventured briefly into the garden, but having two tender wrists meant that not much was accomplished. I've got a physio appointment tomorrow and I'm hoping for a miracle.
The other big news of the day is that we have managed to book a very reasonably priced 10 days in Turkey at the end of next month. Colin hasn't been away since this time last year so definitely needs to see some sunshine. We've been to this place before, but the price was so good it was hard to resist.
We went out to dinner to the Cove next door. Good as usual and so close by. We met a friend there that I haven't seen for a long time. Her daughter and Katy were in nursery and primary school together, so that's a good 30 years ago. Nice to catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.