*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

*¨¨*:•A Harebell Faerie•:*¨¨*

I remember years ago, when I was about 6, my grandma came to look after me for the day. We played school and libraries (2 of my favourite games) and read books together... then because it was sunny we went up to the corner shop and bought a mini picnic (I recall pink wafers for some reason!) and then headed for Tommy Flockton's.

"Tommy's" (as everyone calls it) is a special place, it was owned by a farmer called Tommy Flockton in the 19th century and the name just stuck, even to this day. The Norwood Tunnel on the Chesterfield Canal runs underneath the field. We found a perfect spot which I remember vividly because there was a little lump in the ground, which we used as a tiny natural coffee table and on it was a single harebell. I don't remember there being any more elsewhere in the field. I wanted to pick it but Grandma told me to leave it where it was. I remember trying to find that blue flower time and time again afterwards, but never did.

I went for a walk with mum through Tommy's yesterday and found my harebell again... and who I think left it for Grandma and me ♥

“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don't believe in magic will never find it.”
Roald Dahl

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.