wrbradley

By wrbradley

What is the story behind this building?

The majority of my submissions to Blipfoto have been taken in, or within walking distance of my home village.  Yet I have never featured this Victorian building located in The Square before, although it may have been in the background of other images taken.  I like to take images that do tell a story, so what is the story behind this image?

To be honest I am not sure, I was told that this was the railway station master's house, but I doubt that as it seems too big for that purpose.  My own theory is that this building has all the features that suggest it may have been an old Royal Irish Constabulary station barracks.  All old RIC barracks seemed to have a certain look and this building seems to fit.  If anyone has information to confirm or deny this I would be interested.
The extra photo shows the build in a wider context.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.