zebra

By zebra

A wonderful distraction

The two of us got a bit distracted. I was supposed to be hearing about his grandmother. We went for a visit and were taken down into the garden behind the house. We were shown good looking cows, pigs and rabbits not to mention some healthy looking coffee 'bushes'. As we started back, I took this shot and then showed him. After a long pause he realised what was going on and that the picture was actually of him! He proceeded to ask me to take a few more shots of him and then asked that I take of his cow. I eventually showed him how to work the buttons on the back of the camera which allowed him to scroll through and take a look at the shots.

And that is when the stories really started! He went on and on in his mother-tongue and I responded in English just to keep the conversation going. We went on like this until we reached the top of the hill where the rest of the team was waiting for me. I then said goodbye and got a huge smile as we drove off.

And now I am having a small internal dilemma about sharing this beautiful shot with others. Am I exploiting him in some way? Should I be doing more to support such kids...me personally, not the organisation?! Can people see past the poverty and find self-confident kids who are simply that - kids?!

And so it ends, a very nice day in Uganda...with a few more questions than answers.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.