Polite and unnoticeable

During a call with a government agency with whom we partner on some activities, a Tanzanian colleague introduced my American colleague Kate as having been ‘polite and unnoticeable’ when they would have first met her a while back, when she was new to Tanzania.

I snorted and had to mute and then hide behind my computer screen until the tears stopped rolling, as I share a room with the colleague who had said it. Which basically took all day as I kept finding it highly ridiculous and amusing whilst Kate and I laughed about it in a side conversation on WhatsApp. Unnoticeable!

Can you EVER imagine a man being described in such terms? The patriarchy is running amok in Tanzania, although it wasn’t meant unkindly at all.

I even cried with laughter in the tuk tuk on the way home. I don’t know why it tickled me so much but it felt therapeutic to have one of those uncontrollable laughing fits, so rarely encountered after the frivolous days of youth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.