Osprey on the wing

Should be seen LIKE THIS.

Today was like a December or a January day - it was cold, it rained and the sky varied between many colours of grey and hues of violet and red - bloody horrible.

I went to the lake - it was pouring with rain, so after some deliberation, I drove to where some people were fishing yesterday - I normally park quite a way away, then walk.

I really don't know what got into me - driving down a long muddy track across the fields - I got there without getting stuck, although it was a close thing.
I dreaded coming back - but in between time there were the ospreys.

Maybe I should apologize for blipping so many photos of the ospreys .... then again ...

When I drove back, it seemed even more slippery, due to the constant heavy rain within the two hours I had been photographing the ospreys.

Anyway, one slip, made the car slide straight into a ditch and there was no getting out.

I called Mme Combi assistance who came down - she was most impressed!
It looked like we were going to get both cars stuck so we decided to go to a garage and get a breakdown truck.

The truck arrived and deftly backed up down 1 kilometer of muddy, slippery track, just about wide enough for the lorry and got my car out - this osprey pic was expensive!

Anyway, little rant re insurances - I have all my cars (well 3 of them) two motorbikes and the household insurances at the same company for the last 15 years, in which I have made one claim for a mirror that someone broke on my Audi TT (it was a fortune to replace ... but ...).

So to get pulled out, the insurance only contributes 200 euros, leaving 80 euros for my pocket .. I will be knocking on their door tomorrow and expect them to pay up ... we'll see what happens.

Just to give a bit of a morale boost - this crappy weather is not set to change until the first week of June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.