ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Mini Ray.

Pentax K1000, Ilford XP2 Super, ISO 400

Macduff Aquarium today! I love that place - I've been countless times, but this was M's first time. I think he found it really interesting; he spent quite a while testing me on my knowledge! I was vaguely concerned he was looking at the gigantic cod as a potential fish supper, but he managed not to mention it to any of the staff. We spent a happy hour milling around and got to watch the divers feeding the fish in the big tank. I saw the largest halibut I've ever seen - she was called Jessica. I got to poke a few anemones and pick up a hermit crab and a starfish. Delighted!

I was quite pleased with some of my photos. The tanks are quite dark but a flash would have bounced off the glass, so I didn't use one - there were a few that didn't work out, but most were correctly exposed. The guy who developed them for me commented that none of them would win a beauty contest, but I loved the wee rays!

On our way home we stopped for lunch in a little cafe on Banff high street. As we left, two women arrived with three children in tow. "Have you got a kids' menu?", "Not really, but we can do small versions of chicken nuggets or scampi?"... "OK, I'll have the scampi. The kids will have nuggets. No salad on mine or theirs.". WHAT a terrible example to set! I admit I was a little horrified that the cafe owner's idea of a childrens' menu was ready-meals (I'm sure I just used to be given the choice between a cheese or ham sandwich), but to emphasise that there was to be nothing healthy on the plate at all? Agh. When we left, one of the Mums was outside smoking a cigarette whilst yanking up her humongous jeans. I dispair.

We got home and M washed the windows on the ground floor while I cooked dinner; we settled down to watch The Sightseers - what a bizzarely hilarious film! Not one for the fainthearted, but M and I snorted throughout. I'm terrible for half-watching films with my laptop open, fiddling around on Facebook or Blip - but after 5 minutes I had to concentrate more fully!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.