CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Yellowhammers flock around the field hedgerow

I wandered on some farmland using an ancient footpath that travels across hills and dales. At the top of the open farmland I knew that there was a chance of seeing yellowhammers around the adjacent hedge. I stopped short of a large tree whose trunk rooted in the field itself and within a minute I saw a flock of tiny =yellow coats scrambling on the earth and some small green shoots near the base of the tree.

The birds then flitted back and forth around the tree and over and into the hedge. The hedge itself has been allowed to grow over the old and rather derelict Cotswold limestone wall that remains in place. As I waited I finally imaged to catch a few of the yellowhammers in flight although here were several sparrows and tits in the larger flock, in which I counted more than thirty birds at one time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.