Lorry

Today I thought about going back to where I took yesterday's photos.  At home it was bright sunshine.  However, it wasn't that much better than yesterday, when I got there.  Plan two visit Borrowdale; take photos of textures, the Bowder Stone and anything else which I considered interesting.  The lorry in the photo is a local lorry carrying Herdwick sheep to their new owner.  The driver took several attempts to reverse into the bus turning area at Seatoller.  The roads here are narrow  and have curves.  He did it and then drove it to where you see it in the Blip.
I thought it strange when I walked passed, a man with dogs behind the wall.  Later it became known, he was waiting for the lorry and it's sheep.
Those sheep were 'freed' and ran along the road to where their new home would be.  This is unusual to see, but must be common in Lakeland valleys.
The valley was wet with flooding on the road in places.  Lakes and rivers were higher too.  In many fields there were small 'tarns.'  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.