PandaPics

By pandammonium

Fungi

I went for a drive this afternoon, and ended up on Brownes' Piece, which led to Waresley and Gransden Woods in Huntingdonshire.

The woodland floor was awash with the purply-blue of bluebells. Some of you know how much I like bluebells, and I took loads of photos of them. However, a log and a rotten old stump caught my eye.

Strictly speaking, it wasn't the log itself that caught my eye, but the curious fungus growing on it. It's pinkish-peach coloured, spherical and about the size of a largish pearl. Of course, I have no idea what it is.*

I think the stump is beautiful - call me weird if you want - in a romantic sort of way, like it should be in a fairy tale or something. The picture I took isn't great because I had to balance over a ditch without straying from the path. But I like it, nevertheless.

I couldn't decide between the two pictures, so I had to make a collage.

*After some quick internet-based research, I conclude it is Coral Spot Fungus (Nectria cinnabarina).

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.