Glory of the Snow

No snow here though.  A mild day, bright until the heavy showers that nearly spoiled a late afternoon dog walk.  The sunshine drew me and my camera out into the greenhouse.  Hard to choose the blip but Chionodoxa albescens, an almost white form from Crete where a number of similar plants are lumped together under the name of Chionodoxa nana.*   It's an easily grown, pretty little spring bulb which will grow happily in the garden.
 
A morning at pottery.  I have finished glazing both the tree stump pot holder and my gentian door plate.   An extra of the door plate which I was painting at home late last night, a slow, careful job.   Very keen to see how the two pieces turn out.

A short afternoon at home, readying the spare room for my Mum who is coming to stay for a day or two .... and helping me out being here with Meg while I pop over to Birmingham on Friday.   I did also find time outside to plant a big new planter with some colourful spring flowers.  Jamie and I cooked chicken makhani for our tea, he's having an online evening with Clara while I have a quiet-ish night in.

Chionodoxa common name: Glory of the Snow

*Some taxonomists now classify Chionodoxa as Scilla.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.