Lesser Scaup

After I dropped Ellie off at preschool I went for a walk around Bethany Lake; the Red Wing Blackbirds were plentiful and singing their hearts out. Unfortunately, I didn't take my camera with me because I was headed to my dentist for a checkup and cleaning; I didn't think I would have time to walk before my appointment, but I got there really early. I liked this photo because the reflections were a fascinating silver-gray "color".

My night will be quiet and peaceful, except for a rowdy basketball game on the TV. Hubby is watching our local Trailblazer team.

After school, Ellie came over here to play and read books; she has discovered a series of books she loves, it is the Adventures of Riley group. Riley goes with his uncles on great real-life adventures checking on animals & environments for changes in the ecosystems. They are very interesting and informative; I am surprised she follows along so well and retains the information with good questions as we read.  She told me today that the scientist mentioned in one of the books was written about in her last Weekly Reader at school. She told me, "Dr. Poole is a real person, we read about him in school." At 5 years old, I would not have even remembered the name or cared if he was real. :-)) 

Before I took Ellie home we went to the library for more books and to walk around the lake at Dawson Creek behind the library. That is where I got the Scaup photo. It had gotten very cloudy before we got to the library so our photos didn't turn out as nice as they could have been a little earlier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.