cj308

By cj308

The day destroys the night, night divides the day

I was catching up on a bit of news when I got home last night, befor heading off to bed and learned of the passing of Ray Manzarek, keyboard player and co founder of The Doors.

I'm generally not one for dwelling on the death of music icons or celebrity, but the news did get me to thinking about the history I have with The Doors music how their sound and Jim Morrison's lyrics made an impact on my listening habits and to some extent life in general. It was through the DOors I found a love of Van MOrrisons music which in turn made me explore deeper into and what has become a love of the Blues and Soul music and even Jazz, along this musical journey I found great songwriters such as John Martyn, Nick Drake, Mose Allison, Terry Callier to Gil Scott Heron.

Discovering great writers in Jack Kerouac, L.F Celine, William Burroughs, Huxley to J.G Ballard and Haruki Murakami, inspiring me to want to study English Literature. Never being scared to expand my mind, being opoen to all possibilities.

The legend of Jim Morrison will go on fo generations, thanks in large part to Ray Manzarek belief and passion for the music the four men made together over forty years ago. I was never one to idolise Morrison as greek myth or dig deep into the conspiracy stories, I did admire the groups ability to write some great poetic lyrics and some killer tunes.

I've been listening to their music for 20 years and I'm pretty sure I'll still be listening to it for another 20.

Break On Through

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.