PhilipJH

By PhilipJH

Icon of the Night

I am not religious but anyone in Wellington will tell you this is one of the many nocturnal icons in our fair city. But getting this on a Smartphone (iPhone 13 in my case), such a shot can be problematic. For example, this is a long way away, its dark, and it's easy to 'burn out' the image if you don't drop the exposure. Then there is obvious camera shake at a low shutter speed as a result of the low light. Finally, it needs to be blown up. I guess it would not make A3. Anyway, I rested on a post and just managed to get it sharp enough to work. Otherwise, it is just a pic of a church - actually in a Monastery overlooking Whananui-ā-Tara (the Māori name for Welly). The building is no longer inhabited as it is a seismic risk. Even worse it is perched right above my apartment so one has to say it has special significance to me in that respect. In these troubled times, we are all living dangerously. But maybe there will always be Blipfoto. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.