Red Kite update

I haven't mentioned the Red Kites for a while.  The female who lives in our garden has a mate and they have been flying round with twigs for a few weeks now. They drop more twigs than they manage to carry to the nesting site - every day I collect an armful of twigs that have been randomly dropped around the place.

Last week I spotted the tree that they were aiming for, and, before the leaves open and obscure the view, I decided to try to take some photos. I was really surprised to see the female sitting in the nest as it's too early for eggs.  She flew off soon afterwards so she must have been trying it for size.  She would never leave her eggs out in the cold or unprotected.  Sure enough, a few minutes later, I spotted public enemy number one (extra) exploring...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.