Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Leeds Half Marathon

I set the alarm for 6.30am to have some breakfast before today's half marathon as I don't normally eat before my runs but felt I should today to ensure I had enough energy to get through the 13 miles.

Bagel with peanut butter and cup of tea. My 'run' music blasting out and then I set off to Leeds. It was a cold morning and I took advantage of the mass warm up only to cool down again as we waited to start. Finally the time came and over 6,000 runners had to pass the start line and it took me 3 minutes to get past the start line from the gun going off.

I started off at a steady pace and maintained it all the way round with only the last 3km where the top of my legs were hurting. On the way round so many people were needing the loo and queuing at the porta loos set up at various points on the route or more often just going behind bushes and walls. I was keeping water intake steady and consistent so I didn't dehydrate but not too much to need the loo and it worked.

I was aiming for a time anywhere under 3 hours and did it in 2 hours 24 minutes :) Passing the finish line was a fantastic feeling.

Friends were there to cheer me on and see me finish and we went for a drink straight after the race which turned into an Italian meal in one of the restaurants in Leeds dressed in my running clothes and cap keeping my sweaty hair under wraps!! The waiter was fab, bringing me water, cranberry juice, tea and then wine! I had pasta and the best ice cream but Italian ice cream, or rather gelato, is the best.

I then had another Italian meal for supper, which was booked in weeks before.

After burning 1,800 calories, according to the runkeeper app and breaking all my records of distance run, pace per km and highest elevation climb etc in one run I was hungry!!

So after signing up to run and training for 4 months. Going through quite a few pain barriers with my shins, knees and lower back, going from zero running to 13.1 miles/21 km I'm glad I took on the challenge and did it whilst raising £550 for Sue Ryder hospices with fantastic support from family and friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.