A Damp End to the Day

I decided to treat myself to a day at Windsor Castle. I can't remember when I last visited the castle itself, possibly at least 40 years ago, though I did sing the services in St George's Chapel with my choir once about 20 years ago.

The day started in bright sunshine with the changing of the guards (extra) ... plus queues!  It's been a long time since I have mingled with so many people, but on the whole they were well managed and by mid-afternoon had all but vanished (something to bear in mind if I visit again!)

I had forgotten how opulent the state rooms in the castle were, but my favourite had to be Queen Mary's Doll's House, built in 1921-24 to a designed by architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and furnished by leading craftsmen and companies of the day. Family legend has it that my maternal great grandfather and grandfather, who were both glass blowers with a business in London, were commissioned to create some of the glassware, though I have not been able to prove it.

By the time the internal tours had been completed the weather had turned dull and wet, so I took a slow amble back to the car via the River Thames and the Windsor Town Bridge across the river to Eton.  A magnifying glass sculpture has been set up on the Eton end of the bridge, and this is the view back across the bridge showing the castle.

It was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.