Savor

By savor

Adventures in Shutterland

What is the equivalent of writer's block in photography? I have no idea.

Today, whatever it's called. I had it.

What would I shoot? There are only so many condos, buildings, and faux parks I could shoot in my immediate vicinity. I had to do the next best thing. I grabbed my sense of adventure and my gear:

1. Necklace with a lens

I headed off to run to the store confident I would find something on the way there. About a 1/2 a mile into my journey I got nervous and began to panick. There was nothing that remotely qualified as interesting. Out of desperation I stopped and took any ol' shot. Please don't tell me a stop sign is the most interesting thing I could find. I got back in the car and continued my journey. The adventurer on safari seeking game: The town as historical as its suppose to be...boring. The quiet busy Sunday buzz did not inspire me. I thought surely I was going to have to return home empty-handed. Then that's when I saw it...an opening that was oddly located next to a retirement home. I thought I saw something...I decided to take a closer look.

It all started with 5 druids who greeted me.
ok...maybe two or three and a fairy.
I whipped out my camera narrowly missing the shot, as they whizzed by.
Who knew that fairies were that quick and that druids knew how to fly.
Following fairies....I couldn't believe my luck.
One glimpse put simply was not enough.
Trees whispered and chastised...stay on the path.
Me? The adventurer? I just laughed (btw, this wouldn't last)
Miss the adventure of a lifetime? C'mon that's just not me.
I'll only be a moment...just a little peek.

Many photo ops but no photos and quite a few answers as to why...
You should jot this down.
MOST surreal creatures are extremely shutter-shy.
I stepped on a log trying to capture that perfect shot.
Apparently he was sleeping...and boy was he hot!!
I would've asked for a photo but at this juncture I decided that wasn't best.
Plus, I almost fell into what seemed to be a giant caboodle's nest.
You probably won't believe that I saw a leaf lady, a stick man, and a blue-haired fitterete.
Rudely enough they paid me no attention. Here's what happened next:
They were sitting near a rock, all three, I had a full framed view.
Mesmerized by sing songy chatter... I learned a thing or two.
Did you know if you touch a chameleon you will blend in to your immediate surroundings?
Although you'll never be heard from or seen again...I found this astounding.
That is unless you meet the rare kaledoscope...I forget what happens next.
All I remember.
is It's an experience you'll never ever forget.
One click. Another chance at the perfect shot, I could have taken it with ease.
The lady's shimmering green, the man's skin like wood, and the fiterrete's beautiful blue hair.. flowing in the breeze.
Of course I happened to be standing on the world's ONLY moving moss.
I guess my luck began to run out...The photo was a loss.
I thought I saw a harpy but as you know...they don't exist.
But, i did meet a talking frog with a great sense of humor and and a tatoo on his wrist!

Why no picture of the butterfly dancing with zendail.
I want you to understand. So I explain it more this in more detail:

Make no mistake. I want to be exact.
I was attacked!
By thorned beasts that protect buttercups that visit with dragonflies.
I'm telling you the absolute unequivocal truth. These aren't little white lies.
Although I saw them too.
You must try see things from my perspective--an insider's point of view.
There were on-going shenanigans. an adventurer's nightmare.
There were forces at work who didn't welcome me there.
And No... I didn't get a picture of the thing-a-majig.
Who knew that it startled so easy? and that it was sooo big?
That was my mistake. the rest just happened...I had nothing to do with it.
The flea party I interrupted the druids favorite art piece I barely leaned on...I am innocent.
What about the devious fairies who beckoned me further in?
Those tricksters thought they had me...even dared me to touch a chameleon.
Its a good thing I had been warned
An army of purple vs pink hummingbirds? I'm still not sure who won.
Did I mention?
I warded off humdingers that bite if you don't pay them attention
A true adventurer...yes.. It was time for the adventurer (me) to be on my way.
This place wasn't that safe. I wanted survive to take a shot another day.
My old friend the sun volunteered to be my guide.
Normally I'm inquisitive, but this time I didn't ask why.
The sun's invitation was only for so long.
If I lingered any longer...I'd never find my way home.
This place was not like any other if you lollied in one spot...you'd sink.
Who could focus on photography under these conditions?
Just think.
So I'm sure you'll agree with all that transpired.
I'm simply glad to be alive...no photo required.

A reasonable person might be skeptical asking themselves if these events were TRUE How likely are they without photographic proof.

All I can say....

"My dear you must know... the best photo...
Is the probably most definitely...the one that got away! "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.