The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood (Sunday 19th March 2023)

Encouraged by the lack of serious after effects from Friday's ninety minute walk I decided to try the footpath walk from Pillars Lodge at Mile Elm down to Bowood Lake and set off after lunch. The road down to Pond Tail Bridge has large fields on either side and some good oak, birch and other trees. Some hares in the fields completely ignored some walkers coming towards me with a pair of off-lead dogs, but ran off into the distance as soon as I cautiously raised my camera.

I heard pheasants and saw and listened to a buzzard. There were quite a number of wild primroses. The bridge and path to Derry Hill were closed due to works but the path along the lake that I planned to take was unaffected. A few Canada geese sat on the slopes above the lake, which had one solitary swan on it, and sheep grazed on land above me. I reached a point where I could see Bowood House and across the lake to Lakeside Cottage, and decided to turn back. One heron flew past in the distance as I reached Pond Tail bridge again. The walk back to Archie being largely uphill was a rather slow and tiring thirty-five minutes, but it had beenworth it.

L.
Saturday 25.3.2023 (1448 hr)

Blip #3835 (#3585 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #004
Blips/Extras In 2023 #045/265 + #030/100 Extras
Day #4740 (1164 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarhythm Of The Day #2975 (#2815 + 160 in archived blips)

Bowood series
Landscape series

A Footpath Walk In The Bowood Estate, 20 March 2023 (Flickr album of 26 items)

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900 (24-2000mm equivalent bridge camera)

One year ago:
The Woodland Garden (Acer)(More advanced than this year)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Fontaines D.C. – Cello Song (2023)
I like Nick Drake and I like Fontaines DC, but I haven't decided what to make of this strange match. It comes from The Endless Coloured Ways: The Songs Of Nick Drake. The vocal is by the band's Skerries-accented singer Grian Chatten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.