Patchwork dress from 1940’s …WW2

This is a photo of a dress ( not very good light as they have to protect the fabrics )  that is preserved in the Museum of Richmond . I went there this afternoon for a ‘Coffee and Crafting’ session. The education officer there explained that this dress , made of woollen material, was the sort of thing people did in WW2 to make new garments out of old. It is in quite good condition despite some Moth damage. This dress was made by the daughter of a local vicar. After telling us the history and some discussion she then gave us instructions and a kit to make a piece of patchwork using a technique new to me which is quite complicated. I will endeavour to complete it and it should make a sort of placemat/ large coaster.

The traffic round us is really bad at the moment due to three sets of traffic lights for roadworks. The bus to Richmond was diverted so I had to walk longer than I planned as no trains today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.