Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Small Boat Wake

Today I visited friends in Picton, a small town on the shores of Queen Charlotte Sound. Picton is also a port and the Interislander and Bluebridge ferries arrive and depart at their terminals at this point.
The ferries link the South Island with the North Island and are often referred to as an extension of Highway One which runs the length of the country. They form an "Iron Bridge".
The ferries have had a mixed reputation when it comes to the environment. In the past, so-called "fast ferries" have created a huge wake which allegedly wreaked havoc along the foreshore areas of Queen Charlotte Sound, particularly Tory Channel.
I drove down to the foreshore near the Yacht Club buildings this afternoon in order to capture some seascapes.
A fairly small motor boat, probably a water taxi, came roaring along from away up in the Sound. Of course it slowed down to the arbitrary 5 knots as it neared the harbour but I was intrigued to observe the wake that such a small vessel made.
The wake rolled in toward the shore some minutes after the boat moved past me. It made a series of small waves which I felt made an attractive pattern on the previously glass-like surface of the water. My blip for today.
Back now to land-based issues.... Vineyard contractors have moved their workers into the vineyard where I walk the dogs. The workers have started pruning the grapevines.
I have been monitoring the enormous puffball in this vineyard. It had being growing bigger by the day. Alas, I am sorry to report that someone has destroyed it and it is now in hundreds of small pieces scattered through the grass.
Unfortunately the rather unpleasant material that was inside the puffball, sort of slimy yellow stuff, had been exposed. And of course Fergus just had to roll in it. He came home in disgrace to be hosed down and shampooed thoroughly to make him socially acceptable once more.
I feel quite sad about the puffball. It was doing no harm there in the vineyard. I can't understand how someone could so wantonly destroy such a magnificent example of Nature' Sculpture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.