Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Tailed Jay

Tailed Jay

Identification - Graphium agamemnon, tailed jay.

It was last September when I last posted a full on shot of this gorgeous butterfly and this is a better specimen. I do think this butterfly is worth a second visit anyway. Strange that it is called a tailed jay, as the tails are rather insignificant.

The problem I had with this image, was getting far enough away to get it all on the screen. I had to stand on the rim of the paddy and lean back. With all these pixels, it is going to take ten minutes to upload. True, I could reduce the pixels, but that just seems like sacrilege (it took 3 minutes, not so bad).

I found the nettle caterpillar that I blipped on the 9th, so I decided to make it my blip for today by providing a different view. When I got back to the lab, I was very disappointed to discover that the 'different view' was more or less the same as I blipped last time.

Focusing has been difficult of late. I figured that maybe I had accidentally knocked the eye piece adjuster, so I decided to alter it a click and see what happens. It is so small, fiddly, and quite stiff, and it rang out about 8 clicks. Figuring now I was going to have to mess about with it for half an hour, I looked through the view finder to see how much damage I had done and WOW, clear as a bell. This can mean only one thing - my eyes are going down hill rapidly, as it was eleven months ago today that I first set it.

Can't wait to get out there tomorrow and actually see what I am photographing. I guess that's why eye tests are every six months. I have marked down on my blip spreadsheet the next adjustment date.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.