Marsupium Photography

By magi

like a soap bubble

The day before the referendum to introduce legislation to make Berlin climate neutral by 2030. I made my way to the Brandenburg Gate to join the protest and concert for the final push to make this happen. The music was excellent. It started of with the Orchester des Wandels with Pheline Roggan and Celina Bostic who performed the Carnival of the Animals with a new text. I really enjoyed Alli Neumann who is unusually pop for my tastes. I was particularly moved when she sung the Ton Steine Scherben song Der Traum ist aus. hackedepicciotto (see extra) were crazy as expected. The duo are Alexander Hacke the bass player of Einstürzende Neubauten and Danielle de Picciotto who is one of the initiators of the Love Parade. One of my highlights was Element of Crime. I did enjoy hearing the Beatsteaks perform Sabotage by the Beastie Boys. Lots of new music I must follow up on. In between the music performances were spoken contributions - climate activists, human rights activists, scientists, a union representative, someone from the Berlin tenants' association. The message was clear climate justice is one part of a larger issue - social justice, human rights, tenants' and workers' rights are all part of it. I think this explicit linking of issues is relatively new. Climate justice is like all the other issues such as general suffrage, weekends and labour rights: they need to be fought for and won from those who are not interested in change and giving up some of their power. Fingers crossed the referendum passes and Berlin can move into the right direction in spite of the looming CDU/SPD coalition government. In any case it was great to take part in this event.

I have added a page to my website with some more pictures from the event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.