Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Brid

It seems it was my first visit to Bridlington since 2011. A combination of a spare day, unusually cheap train tickets (so long as I went via Bradford and Hull) and a much reduced football fixture list elsewhere drew me in. 

I started by walking down to the south beach, where I toured the lifeboat house (extra) before heading up to the harbour. A sharp squall had me sheltering under the wall at the top of the slipway for a while (main image) but luckily it stayed mainly fine after that. 

I spent some time watching birds in the harbour: Redshank, Turnstone and Sanderling probing the mud, while the renowned Herring Gull Acrobat Troupe got in some practice for the summer season (extra). 

I wandered up the north beach for a bit (extra) , carefully selecting one souvenir pebble,  before walking back through town and out the other side to the football ground. 

Bridlington Town were hosting Dunston in a Northern Premier League D1 East fixture (extra). The visitors secured a 2-1 win.

Before my train back I walked up to the Minster and Old Town, where there was one distinctive pub sign (extra) which had this geographer’s seal of approval. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.