Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

What do we see?

When I look at a red tulip, what do I see? Is it just another flower? When I go beyond just looking I can see the rich colour, how it shines as it catches the light next to my table. I notice the curves and the folds, the stripes of green and how the buds pucker in some places. I can see the colour yellow mingling with the red and creating orange. The green leaves curve and frame the buds and the dark sky outside creates a look of thunder and dense clouds.

The sky lightens a little and the rain stops, only to start again a while later. I don't mind! I have red tulips in a jug, a good book, my crochet and a feeling of delight as I observe and appreciate all these simple things in life.

I hope that your Sunday is going well ... if not, what can be done to change that?  Something as simple as changing our point of view can do wonders! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.