Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Movin' on

Five years ago today I kissed goodbye to my spouse as I put him on a ferry to the mainland where he was going to catch a flight to spend Easter in Ireland with his sons. 
Then I raced home to blip the final message in my cryptic exchange with Mima.
The previous countdown messages to Mima had not been via blip, which is why you will not find any evidence of gold rings or French hens in my journal. 
It was FAR too dangerous to leave even the slightest hint.
I'd been terrified he might notice that my passport was not in the safe place we kept our passports. 
I'd hidden mine from him before he had a chance to conceive hiding mine from me.
Arachne arrived in the role of supportive sister. 
Without her support I would have failed to cope.
The following week made an hour in an escape room appear as straightforward as a bottomless brunch. 
Packing up as much of my life as I thought was transferable, making decisions about what I wanted to keep and what I wanted to leave. 
Not all those decisions were correct, so there are things I now regret leaving behind.
It's been a five-year learning curve.
Today my landlord in Bedford has set out the terms of the sale to me of the entire building in which my current attic flat is just the tip.
Perfect location, wonderful garden, generous accommodation and some excellent existing tenants providing additional income. I am very, very excited.
Now I need to find a buyer for my not-so dicey flat in London, and work out the kindest way to relocate from the attic studio to the entire ground floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.