secret garden

By freespiral

From my window

Actually it's very hard to see out of this window as it has stuff on it, as do most of my window sills. Should you be able to see out of it you would gaze upon a sycamore tree and the oil tank, artfully entwined with briars. The assemblage on the sill is quite interesting. From far right, 
* an Infant of Prague, no self respecting Irish house would be without one and this was given to me by a friend when clearing out her mother's house - there were hundreds in there and this is a nice example. I cannot begin to explain what they are about but this article has a go. They are at their most potent if the head has fallen off - but this to have been done accidentally.
* a rather nice blue and white swirly vase from Malta, my grandparents retired there in the '60s and we had many holidays there when growing up
* the vase is resting on a rather beautiful patchwork gifted to me by some American wwoofers back in the day 
* a Chinese roof tile in a striking blue glaze, I think it's a lion but it might be a dog. My great aunt Margaret was a missionary in China so I suspect this is where it's come from.
* a wonky silver candlestick in the shape of a Corinthian column - also from my granny

Today I did domestic stuff in the morning then gardening stuff in the afternoon and no book work whatsoever! Himself is busy developing a web page with an online shop. Tricky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.