Sebulon

By sebrose

Hillage

It’s Sunday brunchfast - tasty, but not at all healthy. Charlie joins us, back from his cancelled trip to London. And all too soon, it’s time to go.

I continue cabling up my speakers, but I’m short a few meters, as always, leaving the rear right to cable another day.

I can’t get the amp remote to work, and I can’t get the HDMI signal to work from the amp to the projector, although direct from DVD player works fine. I play with focus, zoom, and keystone until the picture is almost rectangular and almost fitting the screen.

A Fife couple, recently moved to Dundee, come to buy one of the wooden bed frames. I’ve dismantled it already, and drilled out the annoying plastic spigots that seem determined to break off when pulling off the wooden slats.

Off to Mount Florida where Owen has cooked his signature curry. We don’t have time for the rice to cook, because Steve Davis and Steve Hillage are waiting for us at SWG3.

Utopia Strong are a trippy, soundscape three piece. A fine warm up band, but not at all up tempo. Steve Hillage has recruited quite a few Gong musicians to play with and, along with his partner and a wild saxophonist, they play a succession of Gong and Hillage numbers. I don’t recognise many at all.

It’s a good gig. Different to most that I go to. And I was glad to see Hillage strut his stuff with a headless guitar, although his singing voice isn’t what it once was.

We crack a beer back at Owens and I crash out on the sofa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.