Mar 27

The dwarf iris are blooming in a client's garden. I thought some got planted in the gardens here last fall but so far none of them have bloomed. They usually bloom at the same time as the early crocus. I love them, so will have to get more for myself in the fall.
I emailed the manager for my MCA job this morning and told her that I am not going to accept any more calls in Halifax. Dartmouth side of the harbour only. MCA pays a flat rate for travel within Halifax/Dartmouth, it doesn't matter if it is 5 km or 30 km, they pay $4.20. Last week I had to visit a couple of the Halifax stores. I did one the same day I did a call for CI, so I got paid for travel with them too. Friday, I went back to Halifax, I had 3 assignments at one of the Walmarts. It is almost 30 km round trip plus there is the bridge fare. I was over there one day for CI and they paid $14 for travel. It costs me $2 for bridge fare, so that leaves $2.20 for gas. It costs me more than that in gas to go to the Dartmouth Walmarts, they are about 10 km round trip.
I've had a good run with MCA, 11 years, but I can't see myself working for them next fall. I'm not sure if I will even work relines for them next year. I have already told CI that I want to come back and do relines for them next year, and they are happy with that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.