Embroidered silk postcards

Amongst my clearing out of my flat, I came across this embroidered silk postcard from France in1917.

It appears that these cards were hand embroidered by local women in France and Belgium during the First World War, and sold to soldiers who would then send them back to their loved ones and families back home in the UK. 

I find it so poignant that these beautifully handmade pieces of art were being sent by soldiers fighting in some of the bloodiest battlefields of the First World War, such as the Somme, Verdun, Passchendaele etc.

A major part of my history degree was the First World War, and I always remember it was called the ‘Great War’, the war that would end all wars … how wrong they were, particularly ironic that we have a major war going on currently in Europe.

Anyway, sorry to be so morbid. Here’s a link, If you are looking for some more info on Embroidered Silk postcards 

Here’s hoping you are having a good day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.