Dear Photo Diary

By rutherfordium

Coil pack #3

This innocent looking piece of kit was a major pain in my ass today!

In this shot you'll also see previous offender, coil pack #2, which failed on me last year, so I knew immediately what was happening when I felt the car misfire. The RAC assured me that there would be someone there 'within the hour', but two hours later I was starting to think I had misheard 'within three hours'! Thankfully he showed up eventually and replaced the pack, and it didn't cost too much. I wished I had my camera with me so I could have got a photo of him for my blip, he was a pleasant guy and very quick.

Coil pack failure is a known fault with VW engines from 2010, so nobody ever seems too surprised when they go. The RAC man's parting words didn't exactly fill me with confidence: "only two more to go!"

That's something to look forward to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.