Silver Haired Maestro

I was early for walking football last night. One of the ‘lads’ had a Hull City shirt on. My birthplace . His too. I told him the first game I ever saw was Hull City v Blackpool. Stanley Matthews should have played but he was injured. Was that before the war Ken ? Football banter. I am one of the oldest and proud of it. Mike is older by a week but he has got replacement knees. I’m still all original.
We talked about the silver haired maestro. Not me alas, but Horatio (Raich)  Stratton Carter. He is synonymous with the history of Hull City.
Inside this book I have his autograph. He was a friend of my uncle's and one day (after the war) 
he took me to meet him at his home and I had the privilege of seeing his international caps and football memorabilia.
Nothing else happened today apart from an open forum at the Museum and some nasty weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.