St. Bride’s Well

… to be continued … perhaps…
Currently completely spooked up a steep (of the break your neck variety) spiral stone staircase, in a tower, on my own waiting for the ghost of King John. Phone not charging even though it’s plugged in and switched on … and I can’t lock the door.
Chances of sleeping…zero…
Yikes

… continuing…
So, I survived!
As predicted, not a single wink of sleep but luckily I hadn’t googled the articles about it being very haunted!

I was staying at St.Briavels YHA and picked up two wells whilst there, St. Bride’s (blip) https://www.megalithic.co.uk/article.php?sid=28226 and The Ancient Barrowell.
No one seems to know why it’s St.Bride’s, possibly after St.Brigid, but the church in the village is St.Mary’s.

The castle is absolutely astonishing. I managed to find the Banqueting Hall which was away from the group of kids doing their DofE practice and the only spot with an electric fire so I ate my dinner (to the echoes of medieval banquets past) and was glad I’d remembered to bring some wine with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.