Peeling Paint

It wasn't a great day for a walk with the macro lens - rainy and windy. I was glad I wasn't photographing flowers. However, I love a bit of peeling paint, so in a break between the near-continuous showers I went to visit my neighbourhood post box, which is well located in an attractive hedgerow and surrounded by daffodils but is in need of TLC, and my favourite rusting, peeling corrugated shed, down the alley beside the estate agents. I've found it difficult to choose which bit of peeling paint I like best, but have finally chosen this finely fragmented and textured area of the side of the post box. The extra shows remnants of one of the former colours of the shed, along with some of the green algae which has colonised it. The light on it was very poor this afternoon, so although I liked the patterns and colours in the details I photographed, which vary a lot along its length, the image quality was not as good as I hoped. My close inspection of it has also suggested that it's probably corrugated asbestos sheeting, a common material for sheds and rooves in the past, and it doesn't appear to be in very good condition, though it's probably not bad enough to be hasardous just to walk past.

Thank you cathy1947 for this challenge, it made my damp and chilly walk a lot more fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.