Catbrook

By Catbrook

Jason Bourne in Heels

I never fully woke-up today. Walked around all day with squinty just-woken-up eyes and a fuzzy head that no amount of coffee was going to shift. Bit too much fun at the weekend I think:)


This 19th century building used to be known as the 'Navigation Warehouse'. It's situated on what was, in the 1800s, 13 miles of navigable waterway. It was originally a flour mill, then it was owned by Rowntree's to store ingredients shipped from Hull docks and was called (and still is) 'Rowntree Wharf'. Now it's uber-cool offices and ultra-pricey apartments. The building's got heaps of blip potential but this was a fly-by-blip because I was in danger of missing my bus.

And miss it I did, despite arriving before it was due to leave! I made it to the stop in time to see it pulling away. Surely there is no greater public transport crime than leaving early! I thought that with the help of some traffic, I stood a reasonable chance of beating it to the next stop. I decided to give it a go and started to run but the roads were surprisingly traffic-free. I got to the next stop, and level with the back of the bus, just as he was closing the doors. I waved in a shamelessly attention-grabbing manner and made it to the door just as he started to pull away. He didn't see me but, no matter, there was standing traffic just infront of the stop so he was only going to be pulling forward a few meters. I tapped on the door, smiled sweetly (or tried) and was answered by a shake of the head. Denied. Unbelievable, I thought (and probably did a pretty good job of conveying the disbelief with my facial expression). Now I was pi**ed off. The next stop was pretty far but now it was a personal mission to make it onto that bus and reprimand the early-leaving, head-shaking driver. I ran like Jason Bourne in heels. I think the bus driver was pretty horrified when he saw my sprinting, sweating, seething self approaching the bus like something out of the Terminator. It seemed that I had spent the greater part of the day in a state of semi-hibernation in order to have enough energy for freaking-out a bus driver with my lunatic bus-chasing activities. Well, it's nice to have a purpose.



(for those that know York, I ran from Stonebow to Rougier Street via Ousegate Bridge..... in heels.... on one of the hottest days of the year).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.