MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Weevil Knievel

Hunting on my own property today for damsels and dragons on the banks of next door's lake. Nothing. :(

I did find my favourite weevil though. :) It was on nettles under an oak tree which Mr Q. saved, even though it was shading our glasshouses. The weather has been dull, cold and windy here so I couldn't get a decent shot in situ. I carefully brought it up to the house and put it in a cup. It proceeded to climb onto the rim and run round and round like Evel Knievel on a circuit. I have cheated I know but I returned it safely to its home afterwards. I don't like using flash if I can help it either, especially when it gives a black background, but needs must in the gloom.

Curculio glandium, the gland weevil or oak weevil is cute. Why?

Infantile features trigger nurturing responses in adults. It is thought that this was an evolutionary adaptation which helped ensure that adults cared for their children, ultimately securing the survival of the species. Humans react more positively to animals and to other humans that have big eyes which makes them resemble infants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.