HelHSS

By HelHSS

A Lot of These

What a beautiful day again. But cold, too.
In the early morning it was -10 or a bit more, daytime around zero. Not much wind, but breeze enough and from the east to feel cold.

I thought that I could try to go by moped to place near the road where I have seen swans twice in a week now. Both times I was in the car, just passing the place, and the swans. I wished to see them, but didn't count on it and knew the delight just in the ride. The distance from us is 3,3 km. It might be the cold or the mopedy batteries running out of charge that could force me turn back before the destination. Mr S wanted to come with me to the "adventure".

We got there well, only cold was a bit a bother. The place is very beautiful now when there's snow. Wihouth it it's just the pond in a field. No swan could be seen, however. But very many ducks. Part of the pond was frozen and some of them just happened to fly on the ice landing by skating. Quite funny. Soon two of them, first a male then female got climbing up to the pedestrian and cycling path towards me, waiting for something to eat, I suppose. Maybe you can see in the upper picture the male duck splashing water off its beak. I feel chills just looking at it, knowing the water is freezing. Huh.  We hadn't any, feeding didn't came to our minds at all, only so strange place was in our thoughts. Poor ducks.

On the way back we were admiring the huges icicles from the pedestrian bridge over the Vanhankaupunginkoski dam, the place I have blipped before (Mar 15th). All this trip was on the outskirts of the huge area of Vanhankaupunginlahti bay. It's Helsinki's largest nature reserve, with a size of 326 hectares.

Being a bit cold when getting home it was so luxury to have home made, hot fish soup (made by me earlier this week;).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.