DDW

By DDW

Am I The "Amuse-Bouche?"

Oh, what a day!  We started off with a safari drive through  Kariega Private Game Reserve about two hours outside of Port Elizabeth this morning.

Amazingly, despite the fact that we were visiting during the time of year when the bush is in full leaf, we managed to see four of the "Big Five" -- everything but a leopard!

This handsome fellow was literally "lion around" near the path our Land Rover took.  He seemed to fix me (sitting in the highest point at the back of a 10-person Land Rover) with a particularly discerning eye, as if I might be his next appetizer.  I was both absolutely thrilled and terrified in equal measure!

We also visited an African Penguin rescue facility which rehabilitates this endangered species when it can (due to oil spills and other human travesties), and then releases them back into the wild, or else keeps them in the hospital for the rest of their natural lives if they are not able to survive on their own.  They are doing very good works.

Finally this evening we were treated to an amazing evening on the beach with incredible African drumming, singing, and dancing along with more food than you could possibly shake a stick at!  It's late now, and I'm exhausted, but perhaps I'll post some extras later if I remember.

Extras:  A big fella who definitely had the right of way, a journey of giraffes at a watering hole, and one ready for his close up, and a rescued African Penguin and a Cape Gannet at the SANCCOB Center.

Bonus Haiku:

Lion looks at me
My striped shirt looks like zebra
Start the jeep quickly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.