Searching for a ladder

Heating wooden houses by burning wood has obvious dangers and several Swedish towns and cities have burned down in historical times, much as London did in the 1600s.  So since the 19th century Sweden has had a  well organised system of chimney sweeps and rules about keeping your fireplaces, stoves, etc in good working order. Which is a slightly long-winded introduction to the fact that the sweep is coming to our house in a few days to do a major check on the house. I think they do this every 8 years, and it's our turn again.
I realised I was going to need our extending ladder in place so the sweep can get onto the roof but when I looked for it I couldn't find it anywhere. How can a person lose a 4 meter long ladder in the garden? Having checked all the usual places I realised it was perhaps under the snow!!  
"Where did I last have it?" Ah-ha, in January I'd been taking snow off the shed roof, next to Betty's. I went up to check and thankfully about 30 cm of the ladder was sticking out of the snow. I'd laid it down by the shed, which wasn't such a smartest move!  45 minutes of digging later I had a ladder.
Inspired, and well warmed up, I decided to tackle the heap that reached right up to Betty's  veranda roof, and that's today's blip. When I took the picture I'd just cleared the corner where the pile actually made contact with the roof!  Now there's a 1 meter space between the snow pile and the roof right the way along.
As long as this weather continues I'm very happy to be outside in the sun. It warms enough that you can happily sit in a sunny spot without needing a jacket, but the clear sky lets the day's heat escape easily and last night it was down to -17°C. Just now, 10:30 in the evening, it's alread -10°C.  
The wonderful spring-winter at it's best!
Today we had our latest Covid booster shot, and we are both feeling a little strange so tomorrow may be sitting in the sun rather than digging snow in the sun.
Lots of other stuff went on today but I see Jan (HarlingDarling) has written about that on her blip, so I'll lazily just link to her blip instead of repeating it all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.