Sebulon

By sebrose

Trial by fire

I’m up early at Kerry’s and down to the charging station in the village. The road to Ailsa’s is quiet, but I’ve got a noodle in my shoulder. A cup of tea and a massage don’t shift it, but I’ve no time to waste.

A good walk to the station; hummus and oatcakes from M&S; train leaves on time. Great journey to London, but chaos at Paddington. A fire near the track this morning has left the entire GWR network in disarray.

I get a train to Reading quite quickly. From there to Newbury passes without too much hassle. I’m on a Bedwyn train that will get me in just over an hour late, but it steadfastly refuses to leave the station. It turns out that the driver believes it’s the 7:30 rather than the 6:30 and apparently that’s what counts.

We’re asked to move over to the other platform to await the 7:00 Frome train. Which eventually arrives at 7:20. And I get to Bedwyn at 7:35, in the rain, and the sanctuary of my mothers car.

Delay repay here I come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.