St. Anthony’s Well

https://insearchofholywellsandhealingsprings.com/2013/12/09/a-well-for-december-st-anthonys-well-cinderford/

Another corker of a well. 
It took me ages to work out how best to get to it and I ended up in ever decreasing circles until I ended up back at where I had started.
The woods were magical … definitely a feeling of a liminal place … 
I meandered around and wandered off to find a sunny glade to drink my coffee. When I returned to the well there were two boys in it! I’m not sure where boys rank among the fish and the frogs of the holy well hierarchy. They said they dip in it every other day! They set me off on the right path and as I got back to the car an elderly chap passed saying he had just seen a wild boar! I had wondered about them as I was walking. He said there were lots!

I also two bright yellow butterflies flitting around when the sun shone through the glade … I’m assuming brimstones.

I then meant to find another well but time wasn’t on my side so I drove through the Forest of Dean and then over the Severn Bridge which was quite something. I wondered if anyone has panic attacks doing that … it’s quite freaky! I thought about Wordsworth’s route from Bristol to Tintern which, in those days, involved crossing by the Severn ferry.

On to Gloucester which struck me as pretty depressed in the centre with lots of drunks and it felt quite edgy. I made my way to the cathedral for evensong and then wended my way back along the Severn having a fish and chip supper in a pub looking over the estuary on the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.