I'm a Lumberjack . . .

. . .  and I'm OK
I sleep all night and I work all day

He's a lumberjack and he's OK
He sleeps all night and he works all day

I cut down trees, I eat my lunch
I go to the lavatory
On Wednesdays I go shopping and have buttered scones for tea . . . 


Trees are a happening thing.  Yesterday it was small scale and today is industrial scale.  I have a blipsnap with Andrew.  The zoomed out view  It is interesting as a foresters wife to watch this harvesting happening from my backdoor.  Part of our hill is Kingsland Forest owned by the district Council.  They are harvesting these pine trees but replanting with mixed species and no more harvesting.  The next trees will be a green backdrop for the town.  Forward planning and I am all for it.  They called for suggestions for species to plant and my forester suggested Totara and Kowhai among others.  Todays lumberjacks are all operating machines and not leaping from tree to tree or walking across the slope with chainsaws felling trees.  You can see the operator in the cab and he has just cut the tree and will lay it on the ground.  His machine is attached by wire ropes and anchored up the slope.   I will show you the cleared slope when they finish.  
Happy Weekend to all.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.