airedaleknitter

By airedaleknitter

Symonds Yat rock

I'd never heard of it till this week either but it is a wonderful Forestry Commission site over looking Symonds Yat, and giving a wonderful panorama over the River Wye. We were lucky to be there in warm sunshine, with blue sky at times. There are many opportunities for blips, but I chose this one as this is the view looking towards the rock face where the Peregrine Falcons are nesting. It was a delight to watch them flying around.

Given my deep irrational fear of drowning and therefore most ( all) forms of transport involving water I was delighted that the hand pulled ferries weren't running today so we had to make the 5 mile car journey between West and East Symonds Yat. The villages themselves were a little under whelming, with a few scattered houses and a pub each, but the Rock was just wonderful. Great woodland walks, and the stunning viewpoint, well worth the trip out there.... and the cafe did Horlicks so I big tick in the box from me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.