A day of two halves

This afternoon I visited my Mum. My sister had phoned her on Tuesday to tell her Peter the  tortoise was now in my garden. She had  remembered  this important piece  of news and told me she was very pleased Peter was with me.  Fortunately, she didn't  ask any potentially  awkward questions about how he had arrived  there!  I showed her photos of Peter and suggested she visits  him at my house at Easter, which she was happy about.
We went out to the local farm shop for tea and for her to buy some Easter cards. Once back at the care home, she wrote ten cards to various  friends and family members  under my supervision.  
She didn't once ask/ demand that  I take  her home. Let's hope  we may have turned a corner ..

In the evening Martin and I went to the local Theatre Royal in Winchester to see the stand up comedian Mark Steel. We've often heard him on Radio 4 and we find him very funny.It seems we are not alone as the theatre was packed. .He was very entertaining, and  is quite an accomplished jazz pianist too(see blip photo). We just felt  a bit disappointed by all the swearing. Why  do so many entertainers feel they have to do that, when they are very amusing on radio and  tv, without recourse to using obscene language?  A well placed  swear word has amazing  dramatic or humorous  effect, but surely any word loses its impact if repeated persistently in almost every other sentence?   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.